26 seconds…

This is why...

Did that capture your attention?  I sure hope so!  

First things first… I am not a “tree-hugging” hippy (although I have nothing against anyone that claims that title), I am an average mom and wife looking for ways I can make a positive impact on my family and their health.  I am also passionate (sometimes to a fault) about taking care of others.  Let’s face it, I have a servant’s heart and it eats away at me if I do not share something I feel I can help someone with.  So see, we are great friends already – I care about YOU!

One of the main reasons I started this blog is to educate others about all the toxic chemicals that are out there in the skincare and cosmetic  industry. Yup, you heard right, those products you are using all the time… can and will have an impact on your health!   To help spread the world about “the hidden dangers” found right in your cosmetic bag, shower, sink and purse and how to become more educated to make informative  decisions and why it is so important… 

Reading this and thinking to yourself – that’s nice – but why should I care?  Here’s a little hint why:

Most of us would never have guessed that what we use on our skin would have any impact on our health so we don’t think that is one more thing to worry about.  I am here to share, it is something to worry about and something you hopefully are now hooked to read more about (I mean you have read this far, why not keep reading?).  

Your skin is your body’s largest organ and what you put on it day after day, month after month, year after year goes into your bloodstream and well, I know most know the basics – your blood filters all throughout your body, all your organs, and well, in a nutshell, it is what makes your body work!  So those chemical ridden products with false “green-washing” labels are unfortunately out there to trick you into thinking you are making a “healthy” decision when purchasing their products – based on the look and info on the front of the bottle – but did you know, the FDA does not regulate the skincare and cosmetic industry?  

Ok, I will give you a second to “absorb” that fact…

Ready for more scary info that you may not have already known? First, watch this:

 All of the products that you see in the stores, from high end – to low end, since the manufactures are and ingredients are not regulated – rely on YOU the consumer not being educated by the truly toxic and harmful ingredients in their products, and to only go by the front label of the product, not turning it over to read the ingredients.  I mean, we don’t live in a 3rd wold country, so who would think we have to worry about the ingredients labels?  I will share more about “green-washing” in another post – but just to give you the facts…  A product only has to have 0.01% organic, botanical or “natural” ingredients in order to place that mis-leading label on the front…  Ask yourself, does that small amount of great ingredients do anything to help me if all of the other “nasty” ingredients are in there?  Nope, again – we have been duped!  

Now is a great time to head to your skin care/cosmetics/hair care/body products that you have in your home and visit www.ewg.org/skindeep and enter in the ingredients you have found.  If you are like me, after reading through just the first few lines and finding out what those crazy long words that I couldn’t even begin to announce were, you will grab a huge trash bag and start throwing everything away.  Education is power, right?  Now you are educated – I give you the power to curse under your breath all of those companies that have lied to you all this time and said they would make you “clean” when really, they are making you “dirty” inside!

Now, we use products that I am in love with – and I know that I can trust the labels, trust the ingredients and trust that I am making the best decision I can for keeping those “nasties” out of our bodies.   Our 3 kids have learned so much about reading labels, they kindly let me know when we are at someone’s home and they do not have the products that we use at home – although I tell them to be polite and still use them (I mean really, don’t want my kids to be the kids that don’t wash their hands – lol) – but at least I know that my passion is making a difference.  It is having an impact on our future generations – but that’s not enough – I want to make a difference NOW and I want to help you be a part of that!

Can we live in perfect harmony and never, ever be exposed to chemicals out there – nope, unfortunately not.  But can we do all that we can with the education we have at hand?  You betcha!

4 responses to “26 seconds…

  1. You really make it seem really easy together with your
    presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I believe I would by no means understand.
    It kind of feels too complex and very extensive for me.
    I am taking a look forward on your subsequent publish, I
    will try to get the hold of it!

    • Hi there! Thank you so much for the compliment! I do, however, want it to be as easy to grasp as possible – please let me know what I can do to improve the information so that you can understand it better! I will be increasing my frequency of my posts over the next few weeks and I look forward to your feedback on topics that you would like for me to share about!

  2. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for info about this topic for a while and
    yours is the greatest I’ve found out so far. However, what concerning the conclusion?
    Are you positive about the source?

    • Thank you so much for your support and following my blog! I have been in this industry for over 5 years now and I do extensive research with all that I post about. I trust the sources that I use and I would never willingly share any information that I do not believe in myself 🙂 The information in the 26 seconds… post I thoroughly investigated for quite some time. Please let me know how I can further assist you with info on this topic or any other topics that you would like me to post about. I am always eager to help! I will be increasing the frequency of my posts over the next few weeks and I am excited to know that my blog is reaching out to others! Please feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

